What do we Want From the Sydenham Society

The place for serious discussion, announcements and breaking news about Sydenham
T Boy

What do we Want From the Sydenham Society

Post by T Boy »

I am a Sydenham resident who is fed up of seeing objection after objection from the Sydenham Society. Their interference has contributed to:

The Greyhound Pub becoming a mess
The Post Office site will become a mess
Forest Hill pool is still closed and will become a mess – who wants a Victorian front to it any way?
Their objections to the other Bell Green application has delayed the inevitable making it a mess for longer than it needed to be

Where is the success story here?

They hinder development that is inevitable and what most Sydenham residents probably want. I say preserve where we necessary but not for the sake of creating old Victorian ghettos and don’t use tactics which are alarmist and would make most people on the street sign a petition.

I throw open to the forum – what are the Sydenham Societies real objectives?? If they represent us then what do we want??
leenewham

Post by leenewham »

I am a Sydenham resident and am glad the Sydenham society stopped the greyhound from being demolished and turned into boring generic see them everywhere flats.

I'm glad that there is a chance we might have a better scheme for Forest Hill Pools.

I'm glad we have an organization that speaks out on behalf of Sydenham.

If you want to be involved and have a voice, talk to the society. They have get togethers. It's not a closed members club.

Whatever stance the Society takes, if the majority are against it, it wont happen.

You can't please everyone all the time.
Juwlz

Post by Juwlz »

TBoy
As I mentioned on another thread I think you should get a bit more involved if you want to influence the decisions made by the Sydenham Society.